Chapter Achievements


The Greater Chicago Club Chapter had its beginning in 1926 when thirty managers met in Oak Park to discuss working together for the common good of their clubs. In 1927 the GCCMA received its National Charter.

The Greater Chicago Chapter and the Club Management Association of America are intertwined as the first CMAA National Conference was held in Chicago at the Sherman Hotel January 24th in 1927. The National Convention was again held in Chicago in 1933, 1942, 1952 Silver Anniversary Conference, 1963, 1977 50th Anniversary Conference.

Records show that Colonel C.G. Holden, Olympia Fields, was elected President and a variety of Chicago managers such as J.V. Palise (Bob-O-Link), W.C. Banoff (Bryn Mawr), Walter A Jones (Old Elm) andW.B. Bangs (Chicago Club) filled various offices and were Charter Members of the National Organization.

Chicago has had its share of National Presidents as the previously mentioned Colonel C.G. Holden 1927, Frank H. Murray 1929, Barney E. O'Grady 1933, Harry J. Fawcett 1941, William D. Miller 1944-45, William B. Bangs, Jr. 1950-51, Gerald V. Marlatt 1973 and most recently Harry J. Gray 1976.

GCCMA hosted the inaugural Mid-Management Conference in 1991 and again in 2001.

In 1997, GCCMA earned Chapter of the Year at the national conference.

Members of the GCCMA established the first National Student Education Conference in 2004 and hosted the event again in 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2011. CMAA has now placed this event under their umbrella of educational opportunities.

In 2007, CMAA awarded the Excellence in Education award to GCCMA.

The Greater Chicago Chapter has earned numerous accolades at the Leadership and Legislative Conference's Idea Fair.  In 2016 the chapter was awarded first place in two categories: Chapter Fundraising and Community Outreach and earned Best in Show for the Community Outreach partnership program with Little City.